Why am I here?
an image of fingers typing on a laptop, with glowing binary on the screen

I'm currently taking up Computer Science, and as part of the OJT requirements, we've been required to create a weekly blog of our OJT experiences.

Wonderful. I've always wanted to have my own blog.

This blog is currently being hosted on Neocities, which describes itself as 'a social network of [...] web sites that are bringing back the lost individual creativity of the web'. You might have noticed that it sounds similar to GeoCities.

I'll say this about myself: I have a soft spot for retrofuturism. I've always been drawn to the technological aesthetic featured in old science fiction stories and films such as Ender's Game and The Matrix Trilogy. Ender's Game and its sequels, in particular. The author had envisioned a future where people sit in front of holographic terminals, use 'desks', and engage with discussions on 'The Nets'.

I would've been quite comfortable in that kind of future. It's certainly better than our bloated graphical user interfaces and pervasive social media algorithms.

Alright, enough rambling. That's a lot of words for justifying why this blog looks outdated. That's because it is. But content over form, right?

Make yourself at home.